Why Were Chokers Ever Popular

Ok so this is something I’ve been wondering about for a while now, and since chokers are so recently coming back into trend. When they were coming back I new they didn’t just come out, goth girls loved to wear them in the late 90’s to early 2000’s. I made a new YouTube video showing you my collection of chokers (darnaejames). I started to think how long have chokers been around. I read a couple of things, and they date back to the 19th century. Women would wear them to protect there necks and make them feel powerful. Women back then wore jewelry not only for the looks, but to protect the parts of the body that needed to be protected. This is probably where headbands, hats, scarfs, etc. started to make there way into the world. Chokers especially got popular when Queen Alexandra of Denmark wore them to hide a scar (or a hickey wink wink) just kidding it was a scar. Also I didn’t want be that girl but I think they do symbolize something sexual or dangerous about someone. I mean hello dungeons, like medieval or sexual, AND SLAVES! think about it tonight when you go yo sleep.

Here’s another question that I want you to answer. Why don’t guys wear chokers?

11.gif

Hope you learned something, Love Darnae

Follow me on

Instagram- d.fashion.central

Twitter- darnae_james

YouTube- welcome to my world darnaejames

Leave a Reply

